This Blog Made International News!!!

I went to lunch today with my host manager Ching Sum and two coworkers (shout out to Shiauhui and Jessica who are now reading this blog too). In the car, the conversation goes like this:

Ching sum: “Oh I hear I’m in your blog”
Carrie: “you are, but how do you know that? And how do you know I have a blog?”
Ching Sum: “Oh Charles Chee in HR told me”
Carrie “how does Charles in HR know I have a blog?”
Ching Sum: “I don’t know”

So we spend the next 10 minutes as a car pondering how Charles could have gotten wind of the blog, which included a)he’s stalking me most likely via facebook b) the one person I’ve sent it to here forwarded it on to him (which we decided very unlikely) or 3) they are monitoring my web usage of which BlogSpot is one of the sites I’m visiting regularly but also includes singtel.com.sg and starhub.com.sg. None of these 3 sound terribly likely so I decide I’m going to ask him.

On inner office instant messenger:
Carrie: “I hear you are stalking my blog……how did you know I had a blog?”
Charles: “I stumbled onto it actually”
Carrie (this is odd as I made sure that you really cant search for it easily on BlogSpot, and I don’t do advertisements….hmmmm)
Charles: “it showed up in my Google alerts….and my Yahoo alerts”
Carrie: OH MY GOD!!!! (my accompanying thoughts are not exactly publishable, but they went down hill from there…)

So, you are asking yourself what does this mean? A Google alert is actually a very genus thing which enables you to be alerted when a word or phrase or name you choose shows up on the web. ex: if I had an alert for “Carrie”, I’d get a report weekly (or whatever frequency I wanted) that included every web page that has had “Carrie” added to it since the last time the report ran.  Charles in HR had set up an alert to show any website that had a recent posting of the word “A…gil…..ent” in it, thus my first day of work post and my week in summary post both got flagged and emailed to him.

Eh, no big deal you might be thinking to yourself…..well this means that everyone who has a google alert set for that word would also have caught wind of this blog including stockholders, financial analysts, and anyone who’s crazy enough to want an alert for such a thing, located anywhere in the world….including Charles Chee in HR. Effing wonderful! I didn’t exactly plan for my innermost thoughts and adventures to not only be posted but then broadcasted to the world. Worldwide Google alert is not what I had intended for my little harmless blog to keep my friends and family updated. Again, effing wonderful.

Luckily everything I write is just harmless jibber jabber that I really don’t care who reads….besides why would you want to read this rubbish if you didn’t know me? Thus, I’d like to take the time to say, if you are reading this and you don’t know who the real Mrs. Thorlitzer is either please introduce yourself to me OR please stop reading because that is just creepy.

This also means that from this moment on I will not be using my employer’s typed name.  Iit will here on out be referred to, specifically to the humor of my coworker Lolita, as ‘WAA’ or ‘Working at A…ent’ you can figure it out. No more international news for me!!

Now if only someone at SingTel in HR had a Google alert for SingTel.  Let’s see if this get’s their attention…..

SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel SingTel

I’ll let you know when they call me to tell me they are sorry for the crappy customer service thus far. Don’t hold your breathe….I’m not.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “This Blog Made International News!!!

  1. OK, I see I am going to have to have a word with Chingsum. How is it she get's mentioned in your blog, but not me?

    Bill

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

